: Salmon with Orange-Pomegranate sauce

DSC_0463

I found these pomegranates, on the discounted shelf, at the grocery store. Their skins were showing signs of age, but they were intact and still firm. I couldn’t pass them up when I seen the price: 2 for 50 cents! For that price, I would take my chances.

DSC_0424

So, I get them home and realize I am not too experienced in deseeding a pomegranate. And fearing they may be a little on the squishy side, I decided to head to the expert. Youtube.

Here are some good videos on 2 ways to remove the seeds. I tried both methods and I find video #2 the best method for a novice. As you can see, the first method requires some skill and knowledge of the fruit’s structure. Since I had little, my chambers did not come apart neat and clean like the man’s in the first video.

I was so pleased with my purchase because about 90% of the seeds were still juicy bright red gems, Just a scant few were brownish and soft. Luckily, the ones that were past their prime, stayed clinging to the fruit during the tapping procedure. I didn’t even have to separate them from the good ones.

my attempt at separating the chambers before tapping out the seeds

my attempt at separating the chambers before tapping out the seeds

it was easier to slice in half before tapping

it was easier to slice in half before tapping

Ingredients:

4 salmon fillets

1 tbsp sumac

Cracked black pepper, per taste

Pinch of sea salt, or per taste

Olive oil

Juice of 1 lemon

Seeds from 1 pomegranate

¼ cup liquid honey

1 cup orange juice

Method:

Prepare sauce first. In a small sauce pan, over medium heat, combine orange juice and liquid honey. Cook, stirring occasionally, until reduced about half. The orange juice will take on a darker colour, with a golden quality from the honey. This takes about 15 minutes. Add in half of your pom seeds and cook a further 2 minutes. Remove sauce from heat and set aside.

prepare everything in baking dish and chill before baking

prepare everything in baking dish and chill before baking

Prepare a baking dish with some olive oil, and set in the fillets. Brush the top of each fillet with a little olive oil and sprinkle on lemon juice followed by sumac, pepper, and salt. Lastly, pour on the orange-pomegranate sauce. Cover and chill 30 minutes.

Heat oven to 360 degrees. Take fish out of fridge . Sprinkle on the remaining pomegranate seeds, reserving a few for a fresh garnish before serving.

Bake, covered, for 20 min, or until opaque and flaky. Serves 4.

DSC_0471

I served mine over a bed of quinoa pomegranate salad.

