: little glitter houses

putz4x

One of my hobbies, and the one with the greatest amount of time suckage, are these cute little houses.

Little Christmas villages have been around for ages. Miniatures are always the star of the Christmas decorations. My kids love these little houses. The more tiny details I add, the more their eyes light up.

The Germans, who are very skilled at miniature houses – miniature anything ,really –  call these ‘putz’, meaning to decorate or putter with.

Following WWII, it was the Japanese who supplied the world with tiny little houses for Christmas displays.

Part of the appeal for me is that they require few materials, and it allows me to recycle. They also cost hours lost in gluing, painting, and daydreaming.

But they are worth it because they are magical when lit up! A small hole is at the back of every house to insert a small bulb in. Or in my case, I place a battery powered LED light inside.

If packed away carefully each year, you will have several heirlooms to pass on to your children. There are paper houses still around from the WWII era.

This weekend I will post a tutorial on how to make one, in case anyone is interested. If you feel like sitting for a few hours, perhaps without stopping to eat, please check it out. Hopefully you have some activities, or a helpful partner, to keep the kiddos busy.

I made the houses pictured below from templates by Howard Lamey.

Vintage Christmas graphics can be found on the website The Graphics Fairy.

It’s always nice to hear from other crafters, so I know I am not alone in my obsession.

In the meantime, here are other pictures of my latest works.

my putzx

putz detailx

my putz2x

putz 3x

Also, this last one is a work in progress. I am still working on details of this custom house…

DSC_0082 (2)

When I post my tutorial I will also add links to patterns of putz houses.

Materials needed to construct one of these:

Cardboard (I use cereal boxes)

Glue (tacky glue with a fine tip as well as Mod Podge for spreading) 

A cutting mat

Acid free cardstock or velum for windows

Tooth picks

Popsicle sticks, for spreading

Ruler ( I use a steel straight edge as well as a flexible transparent one)

Xacto knife and sharp scissors

Tweezers

Flat white primer

Acrylic craft paints

A variety of paint brushes (at least 1 flat and 1 fine round tip)

Snow Tex ( or any brand of faux snow)

Embellishments such as trees, snowmen, fences, etc

