: cinnamon-sugar cookies

nothing scarey about these cute cookies

nothing scarey about these cute cookies

I made these cookies for my daughter’s Girl Guides Halloween party.

So that it doesn’t get too soft, you need to keep the dough chillaxing in the fridge between uses.

The result is a nice tasting cookie. More cake-y than crisp. Flakey and buttery. Mildly spiced and not overly sweet.

I piped on royal icing from Martha Stewart’s recipe. That’s my go to recipe for icing my cookies.

cookie cut out

...if covering the cookie with icing, start by piping a dam around the perimetre

…if covering the cookie with icing, start by piping a dam around the perimetre

cookie decor

After rolling out 2 dozen cookies I still had dough left over so I formed the rest into balls, rolled them in cinnamon-sugar, and flattened them into ½” thickness with my fork. I got another dozen cookies out of this.

This is enough dough for 3 dozen cookies- or more/less depending on the size of your cookie cutters.

Ingredients:

5 ½ cups flour

1 ½ cups butter

2 cups sugar

3 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

2 ¼ tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Method:

Preheat oven to 370 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar. Add in your whisked eggs and vanilla. Mix thoroughly.

Sift together the salt, baking powder, cinnamon, and flour. Add the flour mix in small batches to the creamed mixture until you have incorporated it all. You should have a soft dough.

Refridgerate for 1 hr. Roll out onto a floured surface. Cut out  ½” thick cookies and bake on lined cookie sheet in middle rack for 7-8 minutes. When you start to see the under edge of cookies turning brown they are done. Wait until cooled before icing.

cookie bite

